How to Get Your Real Estate License in Houston
People are pursuing careers in real estate more than ever. With the popularity of such reality shows as “Million Dollar Listing”, there’s a growing desire to jump into the real estate industry. The reality is, becoming a successful real estate agent is no picnic. It requires hard work, savvy marketing skills, and plain old grit.
If you’re willing to put in the work, however, a career in real estate, especially in Houston, can be very lucrative.
To get your license in Houston, here’s what you’ll have to do:
1. Choose your training program
The first step in obtaining a license in Houston is to take the required course of education outlined by the Texas Real Estate Commission.
Check out Houston Community College. They have an excellent program in Residential Real Estate that meets all the requirements of the Texas Real Estate Commission as well as the requirement for the Statutory Annual Education (SAE) requirement.
2. Hit the books
Before you can even think about selling that Mansion in Greenway Parks, you’ve got to go to school. You’re going to have to take, wait for it….180 hours of required coursework. Here’s how the work is broken down:
• Principles of Real Estate (60 hours)
• Law of agency (30 hours)
• Law of contracts (30 hours)
• Real Estate Finance (30 hours)
When you make it through the 180 hours, your school will give you with a certificate verifying that you have fulfilled the coursework requirement. Hold on to this! You’ll need it to take the exam.
3. Check your background
Before you can move any further, the state of Texas has to verify that you’re free of any criminal record and that you haven’t defaulted on your student loans. If you do have some skeletons in your closet and want to make sure you’ll be able to sit for the exam, you can apply for a “Request for Moral Character Determination Form” on the TREC website. There’s a $97 fee for the background check.
4. Apply for an inactive license
If your record is clean, you can go ahead and fill out an Application for Inactive Sales Agent License. You’ll have to pay a fee of $205 to submit this form (we never said getting your license was cheap!). If you pay by check, make sure you make it out to the Texas Real Estate Commission.
It’s a lot, we know, but stay with us here -The TREC also requires that you get fingerprinted. There are only two agencies that are accredited by the TREC to take your fingerprints. To learn more about this process, visit the TREC website.
6. Take the exam
Alright, so you’ve studied, you’ve breathed a sigh of relief that you’re clear of all criminal charges, and you’ve gotten the “all clear” from the TREC that you are eligible to sit for the exam.
Next, you’ll register for the exam, either online, or through the TREC exam phone number at +1-800-997-1248.
On the day of the exam, you’ll have to bring two forms of ID, both signed and with your legal name. Your driver’s license and passport will suffice.
Bring a calculator. Also, make sure to get there as early as you can. You’ll have four hours to complete the exam.
If you pass, you’ll receive your Inactive License from the state of Texas.
7. Choose a brokerage!
Once you receive your Inactive License, you’ll have to start looking for a sponsoring brokerage. You can’t work as an agent without one.
They’ll take half of your earnings, but, if they’re good, they’ll provide extensive training. Make sure to find one that has quality leads.
The brokerage will file paperwork with the TREC verifying that they are sponsoring you, and you’ll finally receive your license!
Now, the real work begins. Remember-”Location, Location, Location” and, “ABC”-Always Be Closing!